(Little Rock) (AP) – Arkansas lawmakers are considering legislation that would ban the sale of electronic cigarettes to minors.
The Arkansas House is scheduled to vote Friday on a bill that would impose a $100 fine on anyone who gives or sells an “e-cigarette” to a person who is younger than 18 years old. The measure also prohibits minors from possessing the products.
E-cigarettes are battery-operated devices that heat a liquid nicotine cartridge, producing a vapor that users inhale.
Supporters of the bill say that electronic cigarettes should be regulated like traditional cigarettes since they contain nicotine. The supporters say that the devices are increasingly popular among young people and are heavily marketed to minors.
House Democratic Leader Rep. Greg Leding of Fayetteville is sponsoring the measure.